How Old Is Too Old To Be Trick-or-Treating?
Every year this question gets asked, how old is too old for kids to be trick-or-treating? And the question is getting more attention this year with the details about towns in Virginia making it illegal for kids over the age of 12 to engage in trick-or-treating. That's right, in Chesapeake on a first offense you shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 not more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.
There isn't a judge in the world that would sentence a 13 year old to six months in jail for knocking on a door for a Twix bar, but it is still illegal. There are four other towns in Virginia that also uphold that law, which would make it a Class 4 misdemeanor.
My guess is that most police officers on duty will probably be too busy to rush to the scene of a trick-or-treating in progress, although it will be interesting to see the results after the upcoming Halloween holiday.
As always I would love to hear from you. How old do you think is too old to go trick-or-treating?