With summer approaching, schools will be letting out and parents will be looking for alternative ways to have their kids cared for because let’s be real… childcare is expensive! I took the liberty of comparing childcare costs around Boise using the site Care.com. While there are plenty of places that offer childcare for under $100/week, several are floating around the $150/week price and others cost even more. If you’re a parent who has more than one child, that price quickly multiplies all summer long from the beginning of June through August.

So, what’s a parent to do?

Leave them home alone. Okay, we’re not saying leave toddlers and babies at home to fend for themselves but there has to be a certain age where your child can take care of themselves at home alone. Growing up, my sister and I would spend our summertime at home while our parents were at work. My older sister couldn’t have been older than maybe 12 or so when we started staying home and that would’ve made me 8-years-old. The question is… is this legal in the state of Idaho? How about our surrounding states?

What Age Can You Leave Your Kid Home Alone In Idaho?

While Idaho has its own rules regarding leaving your child home alone, what do the surrounding states' laws say?

Gallery Credit: Chris Cardenas

2023 Updates On The Missing Children in Idaho

These children are missing and could be in the Idaho area according to MissingKids.org. Have you seen any of these children?

Gallery Credit: Chris Cardenas

7 Creatures Are Trying To Destroy Idaho And Must Be Stopped

We’re not saying to rally the troops and fortify your homes but these are not the creatures you want to find in or around your home in the state of Idaho.

Gallery Credit: Chris Cardenas

More From Mix 106