Idaho’s Move Over Law Expands; How to Avoid Getting Cited
The countdown to the long holiday weekend is on and many of you will be hitting the road to celebrate the Fourth of July!
The period of time between Memorial Day and Labor Day is known as the 100 Deadliest Days on Idaho roadways. During the summer months, law enforcement sees a spikes in aggressive, distracted and drunk driving leading to more deadly crashes than any other time of the year. That means you're likely to see first-responders working one of these incidents on the shoulder of the freeway or connector at some point this summer.
Do you know what to do if you come upon these stationary emergency vehicles on the shoulder? If their lights are flashing move over...or it could cost you $90! That's because Idaho has a "Move Over" law. It appears in a motor vehicles statute stating that if you're on a highway with two or more lanes carrying traffic in the same direction, you need to immediately drop your speed under the speed limit and if traveling in the lane directly next to the lane in which the emergency vehicle is working, move over to a lane not adjacent to it.
This allows first responders to perform their duties without an increased risk of hazards like being knocked over by wind produced by passing vehicles or being clipped by one moving at a high speed. In a 2017 release about the law, the Boise Police Department stated that failing to do so could result in a $90 citation.
As of July 1, 2019 there will be more vehicles you'll have to move over for. According to KIVI, that's the date where the Move Over law will expand to include ITD workers and tow truck operators who have flashing lights turned on while they're working. The new law goes into effect before the 4th of July holiday, so it's best to familiarize yourself with it now.