New Idaho Law – 18-Year-Olds Can Now Carry Concealed Handguns
KTVB just reported that more than 300 laws here in Idaho were implemented or amended yesterday, July 1, 2019. At the top of the list is a law that now lowers the age limit for carrying a concealed handgun without a permit or training within city limits here in Idaho to the age of 18-years-old.
The problem our state has run into in the past is that in rural areas it was already okay for 18-year-old Idahoans to do so but when they'd travel into or through city limits they were breaking the law by having that gun on them. It became too confusing and so this law was passed by Idaho lawmakers and signed by Republican Gov. Brad Little. There are only about six other states across America who have this same law.
Here are some other NEW or AMENDED laws that have just gone into effect...
- Motorists must slow down and move over when approaching tow trucks and maintenance vehicles parked along roadways with lights flashing.
- Fines for motorists unlawfully passing a loading or unloading school bus have increased. A first-time offense went from $100 to $200, with fines escalating from there.
- Public libraries to filter access on their internet servers so that obscene and pornographic material can't be accessed.
- Lawmakers approved broadening the definition of abuse involving child victims sustaining head injuries.
- Bounty hunters must now wear badges and notify county sheriffs of their intentions before attempting to apprehend someone.
- U.S. Highway 20 has been dedicated as the Idaho Medal of Honor Highway.
- The first-ever "pet-friendly" license plates are now available in Idaho. Money from license plates will go to pay for spaying or neutering pets owned by low-income families.