We can find cereal, crackers, and chicken nuggets that are gluten-free now.

Why not beer?  

Regular beer has barley in it, which is something that we avoid if we're gluten-free.  But now they're making beer without barley - sometimes with substitute ingredients like chestnuts and lentils, and that opens up new possibilities for the gluten-averse.  If you're thinking, "Lentils?  That sounds kinda gross."  Well, yeah...but barley doesn't sound that appetizing either.

Flipping through Boise Weekly this week, I noticed they mentioned three beers that are gluten-free that you might find at happy hour today.

Estrella Damm Daura is a Euro lager, so even though you're sacrificing the gluten you're not necessarily sacrificing the thickness.  If you like that kinda thing.  You'll sound cool ordering it for sure.

Ground Breaker IPA No. 5, Boise Weekly says, should appeal to those who love Northwest IPAs since it's brewed in Portland.  It's a little citrusy and might be refreshing at your backyard barbecue this summer.

Stone Delicious IPA has some lemon, lime, and orange hints, and it's made by our friends in California.

Gluten-free things have gotten so good!  The granolas, chips, snack mixes, and now beers make those of us who are gluten-free feel like we're not missing anything.

One thing to remember though - gluten-free doesn't mean low-cal.  Have a great weekend.